Understand how Micro Bidding works and how to set it up for absolute optimization.
Before we start, you should note that Micro Bidding will only work if you have set up pixel tracking, meaning pixels are fired on Adavice DSP. Learn about tracking here.
Micro Bidding is a feature for those who want to optimize their campaigns for maximum performance.
Micro Bidding makes a custom bid for a parameter and treats it differently within a campaign. Learn more about how bids work here.
There are 13 such parameters (which you can combine):
The structure is the following: parameter:value:operation with a bid.
Parameter | Value | Example |
sub_list_id | enter an Subscribers List ID, e.g. 1197 | sub_list_id:1254:-0.2 |
publisher_id | enter a publisher ID, e.g. 48965 | publisher_id:54651:+1 |
site_id | enter a site ID, e.g. 41563 | site_id:54785:/0.5 |
carrier | enter a carrier, e.g. SFR | carrier:LIF:+0.4 |
device | mobile, computer, tablet, other | device:mobile:*0.4 |
connection_type | enter a connection type: wifi, cellular, ethernet | connection_type:wifi:-0.1 |
ISP | enter an Internet provider, e.g. Orange | isp:orange:+0.1 |
OS | enter an operating system, e.g. android 6 | os:android 9:-0.9 |
weekday | MO, TU, WE, TH, FR, SA, SU | weekday:fr:*0.4 |
hour | put the number from 0 to 23 | hour:15:-0.3 |
ip | enter an IP, e.g. 151.101.65.121 | ip:151.101.65.121:-0.7 |
region / city / zip | region / city / zip | region:ca:+0.1 city:Chicago:-0.5 zip:90009:*0.2 |
creative_id | enter a creative id, e.g. 55412 | creative_id:55412:+0.7 |
Using a micro bidding feature you can decrease or increase the price by any custom value.
Operations with a bid:
+ --- add to a bid
- --- deduct from a bid
* --- multiply a bid
/ --- divide a bid
You can set up Micro Bidding in the Advanced Settings of the campaign here:
In Micro Bidding Field:
Let’s look through a couple examples when microbidding can help you to improve your results:
Example 1:
If your target CPA is $1, CPC bid is 0.4 (set in the campaign).
The most amount of traffic is coming from subscriber list 1254, but the overall CPA on this
subscriber list is $2.
Typically people think about blacklisting, but blacklisting such a source will cut off a big
slice of traffic and conversions. Reducing CPC just for 1254 i.e. by 50% would be a much
better solution.
Here’s what you would set it up: sub_list_id:1254:-0.2
Example 2:
If your target CPA is $5.
iOS 11 is the most converting OS, but the overall CPA is $7.
Blacklisting iOS will cut a significant amount of traffic and conversions, so you may
consider reducing CPC just for iOS 11 i.e. by 20%.
Meaning you want to leave 80% of the pricing, your setup would look like this: os:ios
11:*0.8
NOTE: If you use more than one rule (example below), e.g. country:ae:+0.2 and device:mobile:+0.3 in case, when both rules are followed 0.5 (0.2+0.3) will be added to the bid. Here is how it would look in your campaign settings:
IMPORTANT TO REMEMBER:
Micro bidding saves you money and time because you don't need to create multiple split campaigns or blacklist converting sources due to high CPA anymore.
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